top of page

Welcome to the Geekdom!

Cosplay Interview with Ryan Jackson on Over Weight cosplay.

Interviewer: The Lady Kaylah

Name: Ryan Jackson

Hardship: over weight

Cosplay Name: rfjcosplay1986

Question: How long have you been cosplaying?

Answer: I have been cosplaying for 3yrs. now. My favorite cosplay I have been doing is DC/Teen Titans Cyborg and I love the cosplay community.

Question: When did you first experience your hardship in the cosplay world?

Answer: this year in 2017 when I first did cyborg, even though I was being praised, part of me knew people saw a fat cyborg.

Question: How do you handle confronting this hardship?

Answer: I focus on the positive response I get from my cosplay, and also I never really handled the hardship poorly or excellently I just ignored it.

Question: If you don’t mind me asking, how does experiencing this hardship make you feel?

Answer: [It] makes me feel sad the human beings stoop so low and make others feel bad for doing what they like to do. I feel bad for other cosplayers who are judged simply for having fun.

Question: Do you have any advice to any cosplayers who may be experiencing the same hardship?

Answer: Surround yourself with good friends who enjoy cosplaying as much as you do.

Question: Do you have any last minute things to say on the issue?

Answer: Surround yourself with positive people and positive friends who enjoy cosplaying as much as you do, there's nothing wrong with working out to look like the character you want to cosplay, but I am a big believer in Cosplay positivity and as long as you're having fun cosplaying the characters you want to cosplay there's nothing wrong with that at all no matter what race you are no matter how big or skinny you are no matter what.


bottom of page