top of page

Welcome to the Geekdom!

Re-Reading A Game of Thrones


It has been quite some time since I have picked up this book. I read it first 8 years ago when I was 14 and have read it more than any other book in the series. More than any other book in general as well. However, since ADWD has come out (and yes, I did wait 6 years for ADWD) I feel it is now time to read them all in order. Until the next one!

I am only so far in, and already I do want to make a few notes that I will likely bring up in a finalized review of the book.

George R R Martin likes to give a lot of information without a lot of detail. (Also, this is not criticism, rather my explaination of how I read GRRM.) George likes to say "Here you go! and then onward to the next set of information. Considering how long these books are, it can seem very overwhelming. Perhaps that is why he skips a lot of detail and gives us just enough for our minds to ponder and fill in any "blanks". Imagine how long the series would be if he gave Tolkien-esqe detail for every character, scene, tree! I always admired Martin for these broad strokes of detail that he gives. It does at times leave us wanting more, but perhaps that is intentional. Overall, I like moving forward into the book, being dragged into it without having to spend too much time in one plot point. One criticism I can give about this writing style is that at times it does feel a bit sloppy. I can only describe it as... forgetful almost. As if he rushed through without looking back and forgot something minor; like his hat. (Again, this isn't a bad thing, just sometimes noticable.)

This book is one of my favorites and I have always patian to beginings as I love to read the calm before the sotrm. A good immersal into a story is very important to me. Instead of being thrust into a world of war and doom I love to start a story on fresh grounds. Each character we are introduced to has their own character flaws that we get to explore without the distraction of external dramas and plot structures so that their character development we easily watch as the drama does unfold. I also enjoy peaceful beginnings because it leaves us with a sense of loss and what could have been which makes any tragedy even more so. Great story writing in my opinion.

I cannot wait to once again re-explore these books and see what things have changed since I was 14. What new sentiments I have, which things I no longer relate to. Which things I still relate to!

bottom of page